Prize Winner 2020


Prof. Valery A. Rubakov receives the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics for his important contributions to theoretical physics, that have profoundly infuenced the way we perceive the universe today. His pioneering works on electroweak baryogenesis remain one elegant option by which matter took over antimatter in the early Universe. In particular, he emphasised the role of the sphaleron, a non-pertubative saddle-point solution ofthe electroweak field equations. With his deep and independent research, Rubakov's work has had influence on neighbouring fields, in particular at the interface to gravitational physics. More information can be found on the homepage of the Joachim Herz Stiftung.