Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics
Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics

In 2020, Prof. Valery Rubakov has been selected for the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics.

Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics

Together with the Joachim Herz Stiftung  the WPC awards the "Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics" for outstanding research achievements in theoretical physics, in collaboration with the Hamburg Centre for Ultrafast Imaging (CUI) and the Quantum Universe (QU). While the award was focused on photon science until 2017, it now covers all areas of theoretical physics.

In 2020, Prof. Valery A. Rubakov receives the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics for his important contributions to theoretical physics, that have profoundly infuenced the way we perceive the universe today. His pioneering works on electroweak baryogenesis remain one elegant option by which matter took over antimatter in the early Universe. In particular, he emphasised the role of the sphaleron, a non-pertubative saddle-point solution ofthe electroweak field equations. With his deep and independent research, Rubakov's work has had influence on neighbouring fields, in particular at the interface to gravitational physics. More information can be found on the homepage of the Joachim Herz Stiftung. 



Award ceremony at the Planetarium Hamburg in 2019


Previous winners are Prof. Maciej Lewenstein (2010), Prof. Peter Zoller (2011), Prof. Shaul Mukamel (2012), Prof. Chris H. Greene (2013), Prof. Antoine Georges (2014), Prof. Dr. Ing. Ignacio Cirac (2015), Prof. Mikhail Katsnelson (2016), Prof. Andrew Millis (2017) , Prof. Hirosi Ooguri (2018), and Prof. Matthias Troyer (2019).

The award is endowed with a prize money of 137.036,00 Euros. The prize winner is expected to interact with the research groups and especially with young scientists at the Hamburg-Bahrenfeld campus  during one or more visits to Hamburg.

Nominations for the award are requested once per year from members of the research institutes in Hamburg, the executive board of the German Physical Society as well as the previous winners and jury members. After a preselection through a WPC jury, the winner is selected by an international award jury. The award ceremony takes place during an international symposium for theoretical physics in November in Hamburg.