Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics

Together with the Joachim Herz Stiftung and the Hamburg Centre for Ultrafast Imaging (CUI)
the WPC awards the "Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics" for outstanding research achievements
in theoretical physics. While the award was focused on photon science until 2017, it now covers
all areas of theoretical physics.

Previous winners are Prof. Maciej Lewenstein (2010), Prof. Peter Zoller (2011), Prof. Shaul Mukamel (2012),
Prof. Chris H. Greene (2013), Prof. Antoine Georges (2014), Prof. Dr. Ing. Ignacio Cirac (2015),
Prof. Mikhail Katsnelson (2016), Prof. Andrew Millis (2017) and Prof. Hirosi Ooguri (2018).
More information on previous awardees can be found here.
In 2019, Prof. Matthias Troyer receives the award for his groundbreaking contributions to the development of
quantum Monte Carlo algorithms. More information can be found on the homepages of Joachim Herz Stiftung and ETH Zurich.

The award is endowed with a prize money of 100.000 Euros. The prize winner is expected to
interact with the research groups and especially with young scientists at the Hamburg-Bahrenfeld
campus  during one or more visits to Hamburg.

Nominations for the award are requested once per year from members of the research institutes in
Hamburg, the executive board of the German Physical Society as well as the previous winners and
jury members. After a preselection through a WPC jury, the winner is selected by an international
award jury. The award ceremony takes place during an international symposium for theoretical
physics in November in Hamburg.